News Posts

How To Unsend Messages You’ve Sent in Your Top Apps

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Whether it’s a typo, automatic spell check, or wrong video, most of us have experienced the situation where we can’t unsend incorrect messages on apps.

You might be talking with your boss, mom, or friend, when you realize that your message is messed up. If you’re already thinking “no turning back now,” don’t sweat it.

There are actually ways to navigate tech (yes, no kidding), so you can save yourself from embarrassing message mistakes.

Facebook Messenger

Version 191 of Facebook Messenger in the Apple App Store comes with all the tech fixings, including the capability to send voice messages, chat with businesses, and show message reactions with stickers.

Currently, you can only remove messages you send on your own device, but that will change soon.

According to Facebook Messenger, there are new features on the way, including the option to remove a message from a chat thread after you send it.




For example, if you accidentally send incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can fix it by removing the message up to 10 minutes after you sent it.

Instagram

Instagram might be the easiest app for message troubleshooting. Removing a previously sent message only takes three steps: Tap the arrow on your Instagram feed, choose the conversation to find the message you would like to unsend, then tap and hold the message to select “unsend.”

Your bad message will disappear from your conversation feed in a pinch. The one downside though is people might see your message error before your correct it, so be mindful of that when you’re using the app.

WhatsApp

WhatsApp makes it easy to remove a bad message. On the app, you can delete messages for everyone in a few easy steps.

To delete messages you’ve sent in an individual chat or group, open the app, go to the chat with the message mistake, tap and hold the message, and then tap “delete” at the top of the screen.

A benefit of this feature is that you have up to 60 minutes to delete previously sent messages, but your recipients might see your message before it’s deleted or if you can’t remove it right away.

Please like, share and tweet this article.

Pass it on: Popular Science

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *